SOMers - Stratomatic Baseball

Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: Scoring Earned Runs: Two Questioned scenarios in one game
Page 1 of 1  sorted by


Lower Deck - Behind Home Plate Ticket

Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Date: Aug 28, 2015
Scoring Earned Runs: Two Questioned scenarios in one game
Permalink  
 


OK.  Rolled a game from the 1960 replay tonight.  Cubbies pulled one off in the 10th, 6-5.  And they committed 5 errors.

Here are my two questioned innings that I am 99.44 sure I scored right.  Want your opinions, please.  And right after this, I will get on those lineups, Nitrous.  I promise.

Scenario number 1

Bottom of the seventh.

AB#1 ground to short: out 1.
AB#2 two base error charged to centerfielder: runner on second
AB#3 single, runner on second scores on d20: batter to first
AB#4 error charged to pitcher: runner on first advances to second and batter reaches first.

Now, if I read things right, regarding scoring earned runs, this is the end of the inning and no earned runs.  You cannot assume a base hit and you always favor the pitcher in assuming an out where an error has occurred.  The 'two out' single is the lone 'earned' runner and never scores.  And from AB#4 onward, no more runs which score are to be counted as earned runs because those at bats would never have happened according to the rules which do state to favor the pitcher and assume an out.

AB#5 walk: loaded bases
AB#6 SINGLE*: run scores: loaded bases
AB#7 second baseman E(1): run scores: loaded bases
AB#8 SINGLE*: run scores: loaded bases
AB#9 ground(C) to catcher: batter out: runner scores: runners on second and third
AB#10 ground to short

So, in this inning the team at bat plated five runs.  All of them unearned.  Right?

 

Scenario number 2

Top of the ninth

AB#1 batter draws a walk: runner on first
AB#2 batter singles: runner on first scores(d20): batter safe on first
AB#3 two base error charged to centerfielder: runner on first advances to third base: batter is safely on second
AB#4 ground to first: runner on third scores: runner on second advances to third(gbC): one out
AB#5 batter draws a walk, runners on first and third
AB#6 batter singles: runner on third scores: runner on first scores(d20): batter on first
AB#7 strikeout
AB#8 fly to right

In this scenario, the the strikeout would be the third out as regards to scoring earned runs.  Out number one, CF E(2). Out number two, ground to first.  Out number three, strikeout.  If any more runs were to score after the strikeout, those runs would all be unearned runs, correct?  Also, as the third batter reached base due to a fielding error and subsequently scored, he is an unearned run as a batter that reaches base safely due to a fielding error can never be a charged earned run.

 

Did I get it right?



__________________

Thank you.
Chris Walrath

PRESIDENT OF THE UNOFFICIAL RUBE OLDRING FAN CLUB
FTF in Delaware C&D Baseball? Please get at me.  I am dying to roll.

My You Tube Channel - Strat-O-Matic Delaware
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn_7kbP3FuZCsmY7aRuk8PQ



VP of Operations

Status: Offline
Posts: 16185
Date: Sep 8, 2015
Permalink  
 

Sounds right on both scenarios (runner scored from first on a single?).

I'm not sure, but the second run in scenario #2 might be earned or unearned, depending on where the scoring single was hit.  If it was an infield single, I'm not sure about it.

I question whether he would have scored from second on the play.  Absent the two-base error, the runner advances from first to second on the gb(C).  The walk does not advance him, so the hit would have to be significant enough to pick him up from second.

Sorry I took so long to respond.  When I first read this, I was in a rush, then forgot to come back to it. hmm



__________________

"No cell, no car, no credit cards, he's sixty-plus and gray...
Just sitting in his basement, with a Strat game underway."



Bullpen Coach

Status: Offline
Posts: 1325
Date: Sep 9, 2015
Permalink  
 

I might be wrong, I am not exactly always sure about earned/unearned, but I thought anything after an error with 2 outs, that would have ended the inning is unearned. so if there was 1 out and 2 errors I didn't think that counted. but at the same time the runs that score before AB 7 reached on an error, and AB 7 would have ended the inning so they are still all unearned. I don't know for sure but that's what I think.

and I also think the second run in scenario 2 is earned

__________________

project stats link http://allprosoftware.net/tonkar/apsbteamlinks.htm



General Manager

Status: Online
Posts: 13508
Date: Sep 9, 2015
Permalink  
 

I went and plugged the sequence of events into a game on the computer version.........

Here is your official answer..............

SCENARIO #1.............all 5 runs are UNEARNED

SCENARIO #2............assuming batter #2 singled and the guy scored from 1st.........and batter #6 singled and both runners, even the runner on 1st scores again (geesus what runners did you have that TWICE in the same inning guys scored from 1st on singles?????)........which is how you typed it...........THREE of the four runs are UNEARNED.

You really may want to check out your second scenario.....can't believe twice in the same inning guys scored from 1st on singles..........

__________________

"NACSTER'S HISTORICAL REPLAY"

34 REPLAYS IN THE BOOKS!

1876-1883

1896-1900

1906

1916-1917

1921, 1929

1936-1937

1943, 1946

1956-1963

1976

1986

1991, 1996

37,117 regular season games through 34 replays!

 

 



Lower Deck - Behind Home Plate Ticket

Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Date: Sep 25, 2015
Permalink  
 

chriswalrath wrote:

 

AB#2 batter singles: runner on first scores(d20): batter safe on first
AB#3 two base error charged to centerfielder: runner on first advances to third base: batter is safely on second
AB#4 ground to first: runner on third scores: runner on second advances to third(gbC): one out
AB#5 batter draws a walk, runners on first and third
AB#6 batter singles: runner on third scores: runner on first scores(d20)


 

I think there are two miskeys here.  Batter number one scored in the third at bat, not the second.  He was advanced to third on the second at bat.  And in at bat 6 the runner on first is not highlighted.  He did not score. 



-- Edited by chriswalrath on Friday 25th of September 2015 09:30:01 PM

__________________

Thank you.
Chris Walrath

PRESIDENT OF THE UNOFFICIAL RUBE OLDRING FAN CLUB
FTF in Delaware C&D Baseball? Please get at me.  I am dying to roll.

My You Tube Channel - Strat-O-Matic Delaware
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCn_7kbP3FuZCsmY7aRuk8PQ

Page 1 of 1  sorted by
 
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard