SOMers - Stratomatic Baseball

Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: Double Team and Pass Prevent
Page 1 of 1  sorted by


General Admission

Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Date: Oct 20, 2016
Double Team and Pass Prevent
Permalink  
 


Dear all,

 

glad I found a place to visit.  I had a couple questions about double teaming and pass preventing.  We play the board game and I'm starting to play defense more and need to solidify in my mind what the differences and intricacies are.

 

For double teaming I'm good on most like QB and Receiver double teamed if properly done.  The fuzziness comes when it is defensive cards.  If properly double teamed what column do we look at first of all?  It says defender or defensive back reads as incomplete.... but what column do we read?

 

For pass prevent..... I know it is only for short and longs and if they are throwing to F/SE you read QB double teamed and QB right for flat, and only receiver as right for all other passes.

 

Again what dolumn do you look at for defensive cards?  it says read defender and defensive back as incomplete, and LB in zone as normal...... LB in zone only comes up on defensive cards for flat passes so how do that factor in?

 

help!



__________________

"Love ya don't tell ya enough"  and "DA BEARS"



Umpire

Status: Offline
Posts: 9229
Date: Oct 20, 2016
Permalink  
 

Welcome to SOMers!

It's been awhile since I've played SOM football. I'll have to knock the rust off to answer your questions

__________________


General Admission

Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Date: Oct 20, 2016
Permalink  
 

Thanks NO...... we have a league here we play in Saudi Arabia working for an oil company dating back to the 50's I believe. I have playing 3 years only and as I said just starting on the defensive side of the game. Appreciate it.

__________________

"Love ya don't tell ya enough"  and "DA BEARS"



Umpire

Status: Offline
Posts: 9229
Date: Oct 20, 2016
Permalink  
 

Saudi Arabia...I have played Strat there

__________________


General Admission

Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Date: Oct 23, 2016
Permalink  
 

Cool... work for Aramco or contractor I'm assuming then..... btw any info on my question? I'm sure it is back in the deep annals of your vast knowledge)

__________________

"Love ya don't tell ya enough"  and "DA BEARS"



Umpire

Status: Offline
Posts: 9229
Date: Oct 23, 2016
Permalink  
 

Schley wrote:

Cool... work for Aramco or contractor I'm assuming then..... btw any info on my question? I'm sure it is back in the deep annals of your vast knowledge)


 Uncle Sam. I've never been in the oil business

So my football rule rulebook is somewhere..,

Double teaming...I remember always referring to the column with the most defenders when thrown to the double teamed receiver (4 men in short, 2 men in long). If throwing to another receiver then you discount the double teaming defender from any calculation as if he doesn't exist. Its been a long while....



__________________
Page 1 of 1  sorted by
 
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.



Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard